Life, Love, and Reading

Winter seems to be leaving its mark a little late in our neck of the woods, and rather than going a little stir crazy I am bent on finding ways to make the most of the madness this snow season.

First of all, there’s something about being home for long periods of time that helps your notice the clutter bugs and cobwebs.

What is that smudge on the floor? 

Is there a shoe sticking out from under the loveseat? 

Where did all these dust bunnies come from?

On a regular day, I would be so covered up in alphabet sounds, math facts, and writing assignments that I would be happy to just get the kitchen table clear in time to put dinner on it.

I’m thankful for snow days as a chance to tame the crazy and deal with the clutter and dust that piles up at our house on a regular basis.

Second, miracle of miracles, I am down to one child today.  One stayed with mamaw before the snowstorm and two are headed to work with Daddy today.  I am looking forward to some one on one time with my seven year old.  We are hoping to build a snow fort, play a game, and enjoy the quiet!

Finally, I’m planning to get a little reading in this weekend!  Homeschooling four kids, it’s usually “Mommy Time” that gets tossed to the wayside, and I am excited for the chance to get some reading in.  Here are my books for March:

Desperate by Sarah Mae and Sarah Clarkson is one I started yesterday.  It is all about being a Titus 2 woman and leaning on God instead of trying to do life yourself.  (Secretly, I think they wrote this book for me!)

Choose Love by Stormie Omartian and Love & War by John and Stasi Eldredge are both about our relationships with our God, our loved ones, and ourselves–just in different ways.  I’ll let you know how they turn out.

Fit for Excellence by Sheri Rose Shepherd is a book that I have wanted to read for quite some time.  I listened to Sheri Rose on a Focus on the Family broadcast awhile back, and she is very real and just hilarious!  I’m interested to read what I believe is her first book ever.

When Jesus Wept by Brock and Bodie Thoene is my one fiction novel for the month of March.  I love to write fiction, but my taste is a little random, so I don’t often find a novel I really want to read.  Brock and Bodie Thoene, though, have always been some of my favorite novelists.  I love their writing, I love their style, I love the heart behind what they do.  I also love to read something contemplative during the season of Lent.  Just like Christmas, I love to experience the journey up to Easter.

Recently, I read a devotion about taking the Lenten weeks and reading Christ’s words in red.  We have been going through the Bible book of Matthew this year for our homeschool readings, and it is amazing how Scriptures I have read many times before open up new meaning this time around.  (More on that later)

The last books I have pictured are research materials for my new novel.  Part of it is based in, you guessed it, Turkey and Greece.  I plan to post portions of it on the blog later this year.  I was particularly thrilled about the volume on Greece that I found by Jesse Stuart.  I know him for his Appalachian volume The Thread that Runs So True.  It is a winner, for sure!

So what are you reading this month?  Leave a Comment and let me know.  I may put it on my list for April!

Grace to you,

Nicki

2 Replies to “Life, Love, and Reading”

  1. Looks like a great pile to dig into! I am in the middle of Hacker by Ted Dekker, a marriage book by Shaunti Feldhahn that I can’t recall the title of and am too lazy to go look, The Art of Work by Jeff Goins and a book on the life of Christ by R.C. Sproul. I think that’s it. I get myself into trouble by starting too many at once. Lol! I’ll be interested to hear how you like your March books. Blessings to you!

    1. Ted Dekker! I keep hearing he is good and haven’t taken up one of his books yet. Let me know how you like it! As for my huge stack of books, 3 are research volumes, and I tend to only tackle 2 at a time so a few may wrap into April. 🙂 Thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

