One Year Ago This Week…

 

Sometimes the little things you take for granted are the things God uses to keep you safe and protected.  That’s what God did for my family.

It was Easter Monday.  We were a little slow to get our homeschool act together that morning.  I have to confess, there were dishes in the sink, laundry from every corner of the house ready to be washed and piled to sort in my kitchen, the lawn was overgrown because of rain the previous week (and because we had catered a wedding the previous Saturday instead of staying home to mow and weed eat).  We had served.  We had eaten.  We had celebrated.  There’s no better combination in my book than food and family getting together because of Jesus!

Now, however, it was time to work!  With all of my kids gathered at the kitchen table, we started our homeschool day.  I worked with each child, made sure my tiny tot was occupied, and tried to get to a chore or two as I could.  After a while, I brought my kindergartener to the living room for some one on one time with Mom.  (It’s much easier to practice your reading away from everyone else while you snuggle on the couch.)  We spent some time working on her blends and her phonics, and then I headed back to the kitchen to check on the big girls.

At that time in the morning, I probably would have given the kids a break and turned them out to play on the swing set for 15 minutes for recess.  The yard was full of weeds–seriously overgrown!  There was still laundry to deal with.  Our late start meant we weren’t done with very many subjects.  I decided to just give the kids a snack and go on to our next subject.  And THAT was when I saw it.

There were men running down the line of trees toward the back of our property!  Then they came to our yard.  Men that I did not know were running through my backyard!!  I quickly locked my back and front doors and just observed quietly while my kids wrote in their workbooks.  The way these men moved, I quickly figured out that they were, in fact, plain clothes police officers.  For the next several minutes I saw them edge around all the neighboring yards.  Police cars patrolled down our street.  Individual officers with radio in hand walked around the block.  Finally it seemed like the action was over.  What had started with many officers and several cars had turned into just two police, and they were walking towards the back of my house, all the way to the deck.

I opened up the door and stepped outside.

“Can I help you?” I said.  What do you say to police officers in your unkempt back yard on the Monday after Easter?!

“We’re looking for a white male wearing a blue t-shirt.  Have you seen him?”

“No.  You’re welcome to look anywhere you need to though.”

I walked back inside the house and locked the door!  Trying to explain to the kids that we were going to keep the door locked right now and try to finish our work wasn’t so bad…

until I heard a knock at the front door.
“Fear not, for I am with you; Be not dismayed, for I am your God.  I will strengthen you, Yes, I will help you, I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.”–Isaiah 41:10
Where has your story reached it’s middle?  You’re not quite sure what’s going to happen next?  God is big enough to handle whatever you are facing today.  Let him have your situation, and receive His strength today.
Leave a Reply

