Heart of Missions – Day Seven

Day Seven:  The Harvest & Growing

 “Now may He who supplies seed to the sower, and bread for food, supply and multiply the seed you have sown and increase the fruits of your righteousness,”

–2 Corinthians 9:10

My mom has a special gift for growing things—like those people in Better Homes & Gardens that have flower beds and landscaped areas for their trees sprawling across every few yards of their property.  I am in awe of her gardening talent, and her yard is always beautiful.  Just about every time we get together in the summer months, if I listen then I learn something.

This week we talked about growing lavender.  Let me clarify.  My mom has lavender planted in her garden, but one thing she would love to have is a field full of lavender.

I’m thinking Provence.

I’m thinking Tuscany.

Arms of lavender, baskets of lavender.  You get the picture.  A lavender harvest.

As my mom talked, her hands illustrated the story for me.  “I heard someone say,” she started, “that if you plant a single planting…” I watched her closed fingers tap together.  “When it flowers, you can cut it off and use it.”  Her finger scissors snipped the air.  “The next year, it comes back,” she formed two hands into a circle, “like this.  You wait for the flower, cut off the top and use it, then it comes back the next year like this.”  Both of her arms formed a large circle, and I felt my eyes widen in amazement.

“Wow,” I said.  “That’s incredible!”

“I know,” she said to me.  “I’m going to try it!”

***

I’m looking for that harvest in missions today—it seems so incredible, but I want to try it and see what happens!  How about you?  Let’s pray for that harvest today, and as we pray make a decision that you are going to “look for the flower”.  I want to watch for those moments where God is doing something beautiful, and I want to be a part of it.

Nothing complicated.  Just being available to God.

Wait for it.

Let’s be available to God and leave room for growth–for us to grow and for growing new believers into the Kingdom of God.  That truly is something beautiful.

“Dear Lord, I pray that You would prepare my heart to serve.  Your Word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path.  I delight in Your Word, and Your perfect love casts out fear.  Put me in place to be part of Your perfect plan.  May I give an offering with the words I speak, the song I sing, the hands to serve, the seed I sow to bring You glory, Lord.  God, I pray that You would prepare the hearts of the people to receive Your Word, and may each one continue to grow in the coming days, weeks, and years ahead.”

“Thank You, Lord, for Your goodness.  We ask all these things in Jesus’ name.  Amen.”

Leave a Reply

